Kitchen Adventures, Cooking Explosions

It’s a Cake With a Hole In It!

Posted on: April 9, 2010

My mother loves going to thrift stores, and she passed that love on to me. When I mentioned that a bundt pan was on my list of “baking things I wanted to acquire someday just because”, she right away told me she always saw them at our local thrift store, and would be sure to pick one up for me when she was there next. Of course, now that she was going to the thrift store for a bundt pan, they had plenty of angel food cake pans, but no bundt pans.

A few days passed, and I sort of forgot about the mission to acquire a bundt pan. After all, there were plenty of other things I could bake! My mother eventually acquired a bundt pan for me, with pretty fluted sides. I had no idea how large it was (I later found out it was one of the larger sizes), but I decided to try baking something in it and see from there. I had also never had to grease and flour a pan before, but I am sure glad I looked up how to do it! My finished cake slid out like a dream. 🙂

I have an unnatural love for lemon cake. I have no idea why, but I love it. It just feels like springtime and happiness, in cake form. Considering it was winter when I made this cake, it was the perfect thing to brighten up a dreary winter’s day.  I did learn one major thing, though. When you glaze the cake, MAKE SURE you put something underneath it. I didn’t. I glazed it while it was on the cooling rack, and, well, my counter was then covered in a nice layer of lemon syrup. While it smelled lovely, it was kinda messy, and not all that fun to clean up. Don’t be like me. Put a plate or a cloth or a baking tray under your cooling rack  to catch the glaze!

Buttermilk Lemon Cake (from Tasty Kitchen, by RustownMom)

  • ¾ cups Unsalted Butter
  • 2 cups Sugar (divided Use)
  • 3 whole Eggs
  • 2-¼ cups All-purpose Flour
  • ¼ teaspoons Salt
  • ¼ teaspoons Baking Soda
  • ¾ cups Buttermilk
  • 1 whole Lemon (the Rind And The Juice, Divided Use)

Pre-heat oven to 350.

Cream butter and 1 1/2 cups sugar; beat in eggs.

Sift the dry ingredients and add to sugar/butter mixture, alternating with the buttermilk.

** If you don’t have some handy, you can make your own buttermilk with 3/4 cup milk and 1 scant tablespoon of vinegar. Let sit 15 minutes before using**

Grate the rind from the lemon into the batter mixture and add nuts if using, and stir. Pour batter into greased and floured Bundt cake or loaf pan.

Bake about 1 hour; check after 45 minutes to see if done. Cool 15 minutes while you mix the remaining 1/2 cup sugar with the juice from the lemon. Invert the cake on a plate and drizzle it with lemon syrup.

Leave a Reply

FoodBits

April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar    
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
